Welcome –

Hi, and welcome to my blog! In this first post, I’ll give a bit of an introduction to myself and what you can expect here at The KidLit Corner.

Let me introduce myself!

Hi, I’m Holly. I was previously an Early Childhood Educator and am now a stay-at-home mom to two amazing kids and wife to my wonderful husband. We have lived in British Columbia, Canada, for over 6 years now. Both our children were born here, but my husband was born and raised in southern Ontario, and I was born in the UK and moved to Canada when I was very young, so I was also raised in southern Ontario. We have two black cats that love to play as wildly as possible at 2 a.m., but we love them anyway. I am neurodivergent, and so is my son.

Before becoming a mother, I was an Early Childhood Educator. Ever since I was a young child myself, I have always loved working with children. When I was a child, I loved helping take care of my baby brother, and anytime a friend or family member had a baby, I was always the first to want to go and meet them. As I got older, I did more volunteer work, typically with the kindergarten classes at my school. I would always volunteer for the book fairs, and at one point, I even found myself dressed as Clifford the Big Red Dog! When high school came around, my love for working with children never went away. I took a cooperative education program, which allowed me to get hands-on work experience in an early childhood setting. I also did a program that allowed me to take a college class in Early Childhood Education and earn both high school and college credit. Once in college, I worked in a daycare centre while I was earning my Early Childhood Education diploma.

Once I became a mom, I decided to step back from work temporarily while I raised my children. I do look forward to getting back into it one day, but I am loving my time as a stay-at-home mom.


Why I started this blog

Growing up, I always loved to read. At school, my favorite day of the week was library day. I loved spending time finding the perfect book for the week. Unfortunately, college changed things. Between my classes and working two jobs, I had only a little time free, and that was usually spent with family or friends or studying. The only books I was reading were college textbooks, and I had no time or energy for leisurely reading. I ended up not reading for fun anymore, and when I had kids, I found it harder to get back into it, but I missed it so much. At the end of 2021, I decided my New Year’s resolution for 2022 would be to read more. I started to follow different accounts on Instagram that posted book reviews, and in March 2022, I thought it would be fun to do the same. I created Momma Needs to Read and found such an amazing community. Over the last two years, I have been sharing children’s books along with the books I read on one page, and I decided that I wanted to separate the two. So, I created The KitLit Corner. I’ve made so many incredible connections through Bookstagram, and I love the community. I hope that by separating the children’s books from my main page, I can reach and help more families, educators, and anyone looking for great, quality children’s books.


What to expect here

Well, you can first and foremost e xpect book reviews. It is more of a priority to read and review books for others to find great ones. I prioritize diverse and inclusive books, authors, illustrators, and publishers.
As I review more, I’ll be creating book lists based on a variety of different topics to make finding the perfect book easy for you. This will take time, so bear with me as I get that started.
I would also love to start an online children’s book club, but that is not something I am looking at for the very near future, so stay tuned for that.

Overall, I hope you can find a great community here and books your children or loved ones will love.

Thank you for being here, and I look forward to sharing my love of books with you!

Leave a comment